When Report Sender is installed it defaults to a public sharing model. But this doesn't work for all organizations, so read on to hear about how to customize the sharing settings.

Default Settings

By default, Report Sender has a public read/write sharing model. This means that if someone has permission to view Report Sender, they can view and modify all of the Report Schedules. We separate them into "All Report Schedules" and "My Report Schedules" tabs to avoid people accidentally editing someone else's schedule, but they still can.

When you install Report Sender you can choose who has access to it. We recommend that you choose the option to "Grant access to Admins only" and then use the permission set to grant access to other users. This way when we release new features you don't have to manually give people access to the new components. So if a user is an admin or has this permission set, they can see the Report Sender tab and they can edit any schedules that are in your org.

So what if you want to limit viewing or editing?

Customizing Sharing Settings

Since Report Schedules are stored in a custom object, you can use all of the standard Salesforce tools to modify how Report Schedules are shared within your org and this will change how things behave on the Report Schedule tab.

Limiting Edit Access

To keep people from editing other users' schedules, you can change the sharing settings to Private Read Only. Admins can follow these instructions:

  1. Go to Setup > Sharing Settings

  2. Click Edit next to Organization-Wide Defaults

  3. Change the drop-down next to Report Schedules to Public Read-Only. Optionally, uncheck the box to grant access using hierarchies.

Now, users will only be able to edit their own schedules but they can still see everyone's schedules.

Tip: System Admins or users with the Modify All Data permission can still edit all Report Schedules.

Limiting View Access

If you want to prevent people from even seeing other users' Report Schedules, then just follow the steps above but change the Sharing Settings on step 3 to Private.

If you do this, users will only be able to see their own schedules unless they are a system admin or have the view or modify all data permission.

Advanced Sharing

That's not all you can do! There are a few more ways to modify the sharing. For in-depth help check out the Salesforce Help article on Sharing Settings or learn about sharing on Trailhead. But here are a few ideas to get you started:

  1. If you have a report administrator, give them modify all access to the Report Schedules so they can edit everyone's schedules, but change the sharing settings to Public Read Only so other users can't edit someone else's schedules.

  2. If a team needs to be able to see or edit each other's schedules after you've changed the sharing settings to private or public read-only then use sharing rules to share all records in that team.

  3. If a manager needs to be able to see report schedules for their team members, make sure to leave the "Grant access using hierarchies" checkbox checked when you change the sharing settings.

Did this answer your question?